The Professional Practice Committee (PPC) of the American Diabetes Association (ADA) is responsible for overseeing the Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes position statement, referred to as the “Standards of Care.” The PPC is a multidisciplinary expert committee comprised of physicians, diabetes educators, registered dietitians, and others who have expertise in a range of areas, including adult and pediatric endocrinology, epidemiology, public health, lipid research, hypertension, and preconception and pregnancy care. Appointment to the PPC is based on excellence in clinical practice and/or research. While the primary role of the PPC is to review and update the Standards of Care, it is also responsible for overseeing the review and revisions of ADA’s position statements, scientific statements, and systematic reviews.

All members of the PPC are required to disclose potential conflicts of interest with industry. These disclosures are discussed at the onset of each Standards of Care revision meeting. Members of the committee, their employer, and their disclosed conflicts of interest are listed in the “Professional Practice Committee for the 2014 Clinical Practice Recommendations” table (see p. S154).

For the current revision, PPC members systematically searched Medline for human studies related to each subsection and published since 1 January 2013. Recommendations (bulleted at the beginning of each subsection and also listed in the “Executive Summary: Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes—2014”) were revised based on new evidence or, in some cases, to clarify the prior recommendation or match the strength of the wording to the strength of the evidence. A table linking the changes in recommendations to new evidence can be reviewed at As for all position statements, the Standards of Care were reviewed and approved by the Executive Committee of ADA’s Board of Directors, which includes health care professionals, scientists, and lay people.

Feedback from the larger clinical community was valuable for the 2014 revision of the Standards of Care. Readers who wish to comment on the “Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes—2014” are invited to do so at

ADA funds development of the Standards of Care and all ADA position statements out of its general revenues and does not use industry support for these purposes.

Members of the Professional Practice Committee:

Richard W. Grant, MD, MPH (Chair)

Nathaniel G. Clark, MD, MS, RD

Cyrus V. Desouza, MBBS

Martha M. Funnell, MS, RN, CDE

Allison B. Goldfine, MD

Lori Laffel, MD, MPH

Jennifer B. Marks, MD

Anthony L. McCall, MD, PhD

Janis R. McWilliams, RN, MSN, CDE, BC-ADM

Rodica Pop-Busui, MD, PhD

Neda Rasouli, MD

Henry Rodriguez, MD

Debra L. Simmons, MD, MS

Joseph Stankaitis, MD, MPH

Patti Urbanski, MEd, RD, LD, CDE

Judith Fradkin, MD (Ex officio)

ADA Staff

Jane Chiang, MD

Stephanie Dunbar, MPH, RD

Readers may use this article as long as the work is properly cited, the use is educational and not for profit, and the work is not altered. See for details.