The Professional Practice Committee (PPC) of the American Diabetes Association (ADA) is responsible for the “Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes,” referred to as the Standards of Care. The PPC is a multidisciplinary expert committee comprising physicians, diabetes care and education specialists, and others who have expertise in a range of areas, including, but not limited to, adult and pediatric endocrinology, epidemiology, public health, cardiovascular risk management, microvascular complications, preconception and pregnancy care, weight management and diabetes prevention, and use of technology in diabetes management. Appointment to the PPC is based on excellence in clinical practice and research. Although the primary role of the PPC members is to review and update the Standards of Care, they may also be involved in ADA statements, reports, and reviews.

All members of the PPC are required to disclose potential conflicts of interest with industry and other relevant organizations. These disclosures are discussed at the outset of each Standards of Care revision meeting. Members of the committee, their employers, and their disclosed conflicts of interest are listed in “Disclosures: Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes2021” ( The ADA funds development of the Standards of Care out of its general revenues and does not use industry support for this purpose.

Relevant literature was thoroughly reviewed through 1 July 2020; additionally, critical updates published through 1 September 2020 were considered. Recommendations were revised based on new evidence, new considerations for standard of care practices, or, in some cases, to clarify the prior recommendations or revise wording to match the strength of the published evidence. A table linking the changes in recommendations to new evidence can be reviewed online at The Standards of Care is approved by the ADA’s Board of Directors, which includes health care professionals, scientists, and lay people.

Feedback from the larger clinical community was invaluable for the annual 2020 revision of the Standards of Care. Readers who wish to comment on the 2021 Standards of Care are invited to do so at

The PPC thanks the following individuals who provided their expertise in reviewing and/or consulting with the committee: Daniel DeSalvo, MD; Alison B. Evert, MS, RD, CDCES; Joy Hayes, MS, RDN, LD, CDCES; Ingrid M. Libman, MD, MPH, PhD; Aaron Michels, MD; Joshua J. Neumiller, PharmD, CDCES, FASCP; Richard Pratley, MD; Ellen W. Seely, MD; Dimitra Skondra, MD; Patti Urbanski, MEd, RD, LD, CDCES; Jenise C. Wong, MD, PhD; Jennifer Wyckoff, MD; and Ann Zmuda, DPM.

Members of the PPC

  • Boris Draznin, MD, PhD (Chair)

  • Vanita R. Aroda, MD

  • George Bakris, MD

  • Gretchen Benson, RDN, LD, CDCES

  • Florence M. Brown, MD

  • RaShaye Freeman, DNP, FNP-BC, CDCES, ADM-BC

  • Jennifer Green, MD

  • Elbert Huang, MD, MPH, FACP

  • Diana Isaacs, PharmD, BCPS, BC-ADM, CDCES

  • Scott Kahan, MD, MPH

  • Christine G. Lee, MD, MS

  • Jose Leon, MD, MPH

  • Sarah K. Lyons, MD

  • Anne L. Peters, MD

  • Jane E.B. Reusch, MD

  • Deborah Young-Hyman, PhD, CDCES

American College of Cardiology—Designated Representatives (Section 10)

  • Sandeep Das, MD, MPH, FACC

  • Mikhail Kosiborod, MD, FACC

ADA Staff

  • Mindy Saraco, MHA (corresponding

  • Malaika I. Hill, MA

  • Matthew P. Petersen

  • Shamera Robinson, MPH, RDN

  • Jo Mandelson, MS, RDN

  • Robert A. Gabbay, MD, PhD

Readers may use this article as long as the work is properly cited, the use is educational and not for profit, and the work is not altered. More information is available at