The American Diabetes Association’s (ADA’s) Standards of Care in Diabetes is updated and published annually in a supplement to the January issue of Diabetes Care. The Standards are developed by the ADA’s multidisciplinary Professional Practice Committee, which comprises expert diabetes health care professionals. The Standards include the most current evidence-based recommendations for diagnosing and treating adults and children with all forms of diabetes.

On the following 41 pages, we provide an abridged version of the 2024 Standards of Care containing the evidence-based recommendations most pertinent to primary care—all presented in a user-friendly graphical format. The recommendations included here are substantively the same as in the complete Standards; the abridged version does not include references. The complete 2024 Standards of Care, including all supporting references, is available at professional.diabetes. org/standards. The abridged graphical versions of each Standards of Care section are also available at Standards-of-Care.

The complete Standards of Care in Diabetes—2024 was developed by the ADA’s Professional Practice Committee: Nuha Ali ElSayed, MD, MMSc (Chair); Grazia Aleppo, MD; Raveendhara R. Bannuru, MD, PhD (Chief Methodologist); Dennis Bruemmer, MD, PhD; Billy Collins, DHSc; Laya Ekhlaspour, MD; Marisa E. Hilliard, PhD; Eric L. Johnson, MD; Kamlesh Khunti, MD, PhD; Ildiko Lingvay, MD, MPH; Glenn Matfin, MB, ChB, MSc (Oxon); Rozalina G. McCoy, MD, MS; Mary Lou Perry, MS, RDN; Scott J. Pilla, MD, MHS; Sarit Polsky, MD, MPH; Priya Prahalad, MD, PhD; Richard E. Pratley, MD; Alissa R. Segal, PharmD, CDE; Jane Jeffrie Seley, DNP, MPH; Robert C. Stanton, MD; and Robert A. Gabbay, MD, PhD.

Designated subject matter experts to the 2024 Standards of Care include: Elizabeth A. Beverly, PhD (Section 5); Kenneth Cusi, MD, FACP (Section 4); Audrey Darville, PhD, APRN (Section 5); Sandeep R. Das, MD, MPH (Section 10, ACC representative); Talya K. Fleming, MD (Section 4); Jason L. Gaglia, MD, MMSc (Sections 2, 3, and 9); Rodolfo J. Galindo, MD, FACE (Section 16); Christopher H. Gibbons, MD, MMSc (Section 12); John M. Giurini, DPM (Section 12); Mohamed Hassanein, MD (Section 5); Mikhail N. Kosiborod, MD, FACC (Section 10, ACC representative); Robert F. Kushner, MD (Section 8, TOS representative); Lisa Murdock (Section 17); Nicola Napoli, MD, PhD (Section 4, ASBMR representative); Elizabeth Selvin, PhD, MPH (Sections 2 and 3); Paolo S. Silva, MD (Section 12); Monica Verduzco-Gutierrez, MD (Section 4); Crystal C. Woodward (Section 17); and Zobair M. Younossi, MD, MPH (Section 4). ADA staff are Raveendhara R. Bannuru, MD, PhD; Nuha Ali ElSayed, MD, MMSc; Robert A. Gabbay, MD, PhD; Elizabeth J. Pekas, PhD; and Alexandra M. Yacoubian.


The American Diabetes Association Primary Care Advisory Group (PCAG) developed the Standards of Care in Diabetes—2024 Abridged for Primary Care Professionals. Members included Nuha A. ElSayed, Arshiya Baig, Sarah Bradley, Jennifer Gonzalez, Andrea Haynes, Rozalina G. McCoy, Joy Moverley, Sean M. Oser, Kim Pfotenhauer, Diana Rapalo, Alissa R. Segal, Ashlyn Smith, Heidi Webb, Elizabeth J. Pekas, and Raveendhara R. Bannuru.

Readers who wish to comment on the abridged or complete Standards of Care are invited to do so at

This article and each section of the 2024 Abridged Standards of Care are part of a special article collection available at

This article contains supplementary material online at

Readers may use this article as long as the work is properly cited, the use is educational and not for profit, and the work is not altered. More information is available at